In This Section

When Your Not in Public Accounting, What's Different?

There's a lot to remember and that's why we have compiled this list of Frequently Asked Questions:

 

Who keeps track of my CPE?

This is likely now your responsibility. Make sure you keep the detailed attendance confirmation letters of all the CPE you attended so if you are audited by the Indiana Board of Accountancy, you can produce these documents. These letters are issued by the CPE Sponsor and should include your name, the date, location and time of the seminar. It should also list how many hours of CPE your earned.

Helpful hint: all CPE taken with INCPAS is easily found at incpas.org/myprofile You can see where you’re at with hours and print any missing attendance letters!

Note: Licensure Law and Administrative Rules governing the accountancy profession are found in various parts of the Indiana Code. The Indiana Professional Licensing Agency provides access to the Licensure Law and Administrative Rules, available by linking to the Indiana Code.

 

Know your CPE requirements
  • A minimum of 120 total hours of instruction during the three-year reporting period.
  • No less than 20 hours per calendar year.
  • No less than 10% of the total hours (12 hours), for the reporting period, must be in Accounting and/or Auditing (A&A).
  • No less than 4 hours, for the reporting period, must be in Ethics.
  • No more than 50% of the required 120 hours for the reporting period, will be accepted as self-study.

Note: Licensure Law and Administrative Rules governing the accountancy profession are found in various parts of the Indiana Code. The Indiana Professional Licensing Agency provides access to the Licensure Law and Administrative Rules, available by linking to the Indiana Code.

 

What counts: the difference between group live, webinars and self-study CPE
  • Group live is defined as education received through real-time interaction with an instructor and other participants may be in a classroom, conference room setting, telephonic, or by using the internet.
  • A webinar that has a specific date and time, with instructor involvement, can count as group study
  • Self-Study is "designed to permit a participant to learn a given subject without involvement of an instructor." These courses contain a test at the end of the course in which you must score at least a 70% to pass.

Note: Licensure Law and Administrative Rules governing the accountancy profession are found in various parts of the Indiana Code. The Indiana Professional Licensing Agency provides access to the Licensure Law and Administrative Rules, available by linking to the Indiana Code.

 

What is the difference between Renewal Periods and Reporting Periods?
A License Renewal Period pertains to your CPA license in the State of IN
  • Licenses have a three (3) year cycle.
  • July 1, 2018 - expires June 30, 2021
  • July 1, 2021 - expires June 30, 2024
  • July 1, 2024 - expires June 30, 2026

Note: Licensure Law and Administrative Rules governing the accountancy profession are found in various parts of the Indiana Code. The Indiana Professional Licensing Agency provides access to the Licensure Law and Administrative Rules, available by linking to the Indiana Code.

 

How do I change my name, address, or e-mail address with the Indiana Board of Accountancy?

Log in and update address information. The Board uses electronic communications to send out important information, including renewals.

 

My license is listed as expired—now what?

An expired license means you are not licensed to practice accountancy. Most likely you failed to renew and pay licensing fees in the last renewal with the State. For more details, please call IPLA at 317-234-8800 or visit their website.

 

I’ve heard of CPA-inactive, but what does that mean?

Inactive license holders are considered licensed upon renewal, but they may not practice accounting. CPA-inactive licensees maintain their license and pay the licensing fees but are not required to complete Continuing Professional Education (CPE). For more details, please call IPLA at 317-234-8800 or visit their website.

 

How do I return my inactive license to active status?

You will need to complete the reactivation application and provide proof of 120 hours of CPE in the 3 years preceding reactivation (including 4 hours Ethics, 12 hours Accounting and Auditing, and no more than 50% self-study). For more details, please call IPLA at 317-234-8800 or visit their website.

 

Don't forget that we are always here to answer your questions. Contact us at info@incpas.org or (317) 726-5000.